It’s been a while – here’s something I made earlier……

You know that thing where life gets in the way, and you haven’t updated your blog in ages…….

Things have been rather busy of late here – new job happened, trips away happened, amazing vegan food happening.

We had a couple of friends round for dinner last night. They wanted tapas. I was always a huge fan of chorizo, so decided to try my hand at making some.

chorizo-2

Not bad for a first attempt!

I’ve been experimenting with vital wheat gluten alot recently, making my own seitan. So I knew it’d be a good base to start with. I mixed through some crushed cannelini beans, ALL the garlic, a metric tonne (or two) of smoked paprika, cayenne, black pepper and chipotle flakes. Added a dash of tomato puree, salt and a touch of sugar. Poured in enough veg stock to make a dough, then kneaded for about five minutes. I’m always amazed at how quickly seitan comes together when you knead it, and it starts to get that “meaty” texture straight away.

Next up I rolled it into “sausages”, wrapped in foil, and steamed for around 40 minutes. Let them cool, remove the foil, and then let them sit overnight.

I fried them up with some canellini beans.

Verdict – they were pretty good for a first draft. They definitely need more umami in there – I’m thinking just a drop of miso to enrich the flavour, and some oil actually mixed in – maybe toasted sesame. When I fried the chorizo it didn’t release the smokey red oils you normally get with good Spanish chorizo.

 

 

Leave a Reply

