Indian-style kebab….ish

As I’m sure you’re aware, I’m a HUGE fan of PRASHAD, and their’s are some of the few cookery books I actually own.

 

There’s a fantastic recipe for Methi Bhaji Bataka (basically fenugreek potatoes) in their PRASHAD AT HOME book, which I’ve been meaning to turn into a wrap for ages…. so here it is….

IMG_20170630_220525257.jpg

 

Yeah, I got a bit carried away with the fillings…

 

So let’s start at the bottom…

Simple flatbreads – seeded wholemeal flour, sunflower oil, salt and water – mixed, kneaded, rolled out and cooked fast and hot.

Salad – y’know, leaves and stuff?

Curried spinach – turmeric, asafoetida, black pepper, black mustard, cardomom, fresh chillies, fresh ginger, fresh garlic – fry them all up, wilt down the spinach. Green, spicy, delicious.

Methi Bhaji Bataka – the recipe’s in the book – it’s only £25, thank me later.

 

Achari Tofu – Firm Tofu, strained and marinaded in lemon juice, dried mint, salt and soy sauce. Coated with Achari Spice Blend (available from most Continental superstores – it’s basically chilli, black salt, mango powder, asafoetida and a few other bits and bobs), baked until slightly crispy. YUM.

Coriander Chutney – fresh coriander, fresh chillies, fresh garlic, lemon juice, salt. Blitz, then stir through your vegan yoghurt of choice. This time it was almond milk yoghurt. I hadn’t tried this one before – usually I go for COYO’S fantastic coconut based yoghurt.

Topped off with a garnish of fresh coriander and red chillies.

I don’t often like to “blow my own trumpet”… but this was a bit special.

17 hours later and I’m still stuffed!

 

 

Leave a Reply

